The Eta Clock is a fun and whimsical way to stay connected to the people you care about most. When you sign up to be a member of an Eta Clock, you will share some information with us. We understand that sharing that information affects your privacy, so we want to be clear about the information we collect, how we use it, whom we share it with, and the choices we give you to control, access, and updated your information.
We’re happy to report that once our product is in production, we will participate in the EU-U.S. and Swiss-U.S. Privacy Shield, which you can read more about here.
Information We Collect
When you sign up with our service, we collect only a single piece of information from you: your email address. This is all the information we require to become a part of an Eta Clock. If you choose, you may also associate your first and last name with your account, but it is never required.
It probably goes without saying, but when you contact Eta Clock Support or communicate with us in any other way, we’ll also collect whatever information you volunteer.
When you use our service, you may wish to provide location data for a better user experience. This data includes the location’s street address and a user-chosen name. Address data is used to help the Eta Clock device categorize your geolocation data. Your user-chosen name is simply a practical tool to help you to manage your locations in our mobile app.
In order to use our service, you will need to enable location tracking on your mobile device. Enabling this ability allows us to regularly collect your geolocation coordinates. While we understand that this can feel like an invasion of privacy, this is a required piece of the Eta Clock puzzle. Read below to learn more about how we handle your geolocation data to ensure your continued privacy.
How We Use Information
What do we do with the information we collect? The short answer is: Provide you with an amazing set of products and services that we relentlessly improve. Here are some of the ways we do that:
How We Share Information
Very simply, we only share the information we collect about you with the Eta Clock Owner to whose clock you have chosen to belong. However, there are two forms of sharing, direct and indirect. Direct sharing means your data is visible to the Eta Clock Owner. Indirect sharing means your data is sent to an Eta Clock device but is never displayed in its natural form.
User data is shared directly. Which means your email address and your name (if you choose to provide it) will be visible to your Eta Clock Owner in their Eta Clock app.
Location and Geolocation data is shared indirectly. This means your location addresses and geolocation coordinates will never be visible to the Eta Clock Owner. However, your data will be passed to the Eta Clock device and transformed into a analog representation (e.g. your hand moves from “Transit” to “Home”)
This goes without saying, but any and all data transmitted through the internet is transmitted securely and safely, following all industry best practices for key usage and encryption. Additionally, our device hardware is password protected and cannot be accessed without Eta Clock Factory permissions.
How Long We Keep Your Data
In order to provide the level of service expected by our customers, we must keep some of your data. However, we strive to reduce the amount of data we store for our own benefits as well as yours.
The User and Location data you choose to share with us will be stored as long as you wish to have the information associated with your account. However, if you choose to remove a location or the name associated with your account, we will subsequently remove that information from our system and the Eta Clock devices with which it was shared.The only piece of User data we cannot remove from our system at your will is the email address associated with your account. This is unavoidable, as your email address is the only way by which you can login and subsequently use our service. If you ever wish to delete your account, please contact us for more information.
The Geolocation data you choose to share with us is only stored for a short period of time. Once we have confirmed that the Eta Clock device has received your geolocation data, we remove it from our system. If we do not receive confirmation of it’s receipt in 3 days time, the data is removed regardless. Eta Clock devices only store the last 5 Geolocation updates from each user, making the historical data very narrow in breadth and content.
Finally—and this is important—you should understand that users who see the User information you provide can always save it using any number of techniques (e.g. screenshots). It’s also possible, as with any digital information, that someone might be able to access this data forensically or find it in a device’s temporary storage. Keep in mind that, while our systems are designed to carry out our deletion practices automatically, we may need to suspend those deletion practices if we receive valid legal process asking us to preserve content.
Control over Your Information
We want you to be in control of your information, so we provide you with the following tools.
Access and Updates: We allow you to access and update all of your User and Location information in our mobile app. If you ever wish the change your email address, please contact us.
Removing Locations: You can, at any time, remove a Location from your account. By doing so, you remove the ability for a clock owner to know when you are at that particular location. Adding and removing locations
Stop Tracking: You can, at any time, ask us to stop tracking your location without deleting your Eta Clock account. If you belong to more than one Eta Clock community, you can configure tracking on each clock independently for greater flexibility and control.
Revoking Permissions: You can, at any time, choose to leave an Eta Clock Owner's community. In addition, you can choose to suspend your Eta Clock account by contacting our Support Service.